Welcome to the official pages of the Technical Committee on Factory Automation (see our scope).  This site is aimed to provide essential information to those interested in the field of industrial automation.

Here, you will find information on recent and upcoming technical events and presentations; calls for papers; copies of important presentations by industry leaders; details of special sections and issues in the IEEE journals; information on books; downloadable copies of papers awarded best paper title; and many other resources.


The Technical Committee on Factory Automation (TCFA) aims to promote synergic interactions between experts from industry and academia (in order) to foster the development and adoption of scientific methods, models, and tools for the efficient design and operation of industrial and factory automation systems. The technical scope of the TCFA encompasses a broad range of technologies relevant to industrial and factory automation systems, including communication systems, real-time and networked embedded systems, wireless sensor networks, in-vehicle systems, automated control, intelligent and cooperative robotics, computer vision, and human-machine interaction. Desirable properties in the context of industrial and factory automation, such as security, fault-tolerance and dependability are also addressed. In order to disseminate novel ideas and emerging trends, research results and practical achievements, the TCFA members regularly meet at IEEE-IES conferences. They also actively participate in the organization of technical tracks, special sessions and workshops at IEEE-IES conferences, and run special sections of the IEEE-IES Transactions and journals.


TCFA 2016-2017

Structure of the Technical Committee on Factory Automation

The TCFA consists of SubCommittes and a number of members-at-large. The complete list of members is available here.

The SubCommittes gather experts, from industry and academia, who are actively fostering initiatives within the IES in the specific domain of the Sub-Committee.

Committee Officers:

Chair: Lucia Lo Bello, University of Catania, Italy
Vice-Chair: Johan Åkerberg,ABB Corporate Research, Sweden
Secretary: Marina Indri, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Subcommittees & Chairs

FA1: Industrial Communication Systems
Elisabeth Uhlemann, Malardalen University, Sweden
Tomas Lennvall, SICS Swedish ICT, Sweden
Stefano Vitturi, National Research Council of Italy (CNR-IEIIT), University of Padova, Italy

FA2: Real-Time Systems in Industrial and Factory Automation
Luis Almeida, University of Porto, Portugal
Jian-Jia Chen, Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany
Thomas Nolte, Malardalen University, Sweden

FA3: Networked Embedded Systems
Marco Di Natale, Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna,Pisa, Italy
Roberto Passerone, University of Trento, Italy

FA4: Wireless Sensor Networks and Cyber-Physical Systems in Industrial and Factory Automation
Frank Golatowski, University of Rostock, Germany
Mikael Gidlund, Mid Sweden University, Sweden.

FA5: Industrial Automated Systems and Control
Carla Seatzu, University of Cagliari, Italy
Cristian Mahulea, University of Zaragoza, Spain

FA6: Security in Industrial Communication and Embedded Systems
Thilo Sauter, Danube University, Austria
Adriano Valenzano, National Research Council of Italy, Turin, Italy

FA7: In-Vehicle Embedded Systems
Unmesh Dutta Bordoloi, General Motors, Detroit, USA

FA8: Fault Tolerant and Dependable Systems
Julian Proenza, University of Balearic Islands (UIB), Spain
Sasikumar Punnekkat, Malardalen University, Sweden

FA9: Intelligent and Cooperative Robotics
Marina Indri, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Antoni Grau-Saldes, Technical University of Catalonia, Spain

FA10: Computer vision and Human-Machine Interaction in Industrial and Factory Automation
Marco Porta, University of Pavia, Italy