Subcommittee on Industrial Automated Systems and Control

Carla Seatzu, University of Cagliari, Italy
Cristian Mahulea, University of Zaragoza, Spain

Scope: Design methodologies and tools for the modeling and verification of manufacturing and process systems. Programmable logic control, process control, intelligent control, supervisory control. Synthesis and analysis techniques. Simulation, queueing systems, Petri nets. Performance Evaluation and reliability. Scheduling. Failure detection, diagnosis, and appropriate control strategies. Discrete, continuous and hybrid industrial automation systems. Integration of automation, control and supervision. Automated manufacturing systems and enterprise integration. Recent developments in standardization. Test cases, benchmarks, and tools. Concurrent and more efficient engineering.


Carla Seatzu received her Laurea degree in electrical engineering and her PhD degree in electronic engineering and computer science from the University of Cagliari, Italy, in 1996 and 2000, respectively. In 2002 she joined the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering of the University of Cagliari as an assistant professor of Automatic Control. She currently serves as as associate professor of Automatic Control in the same department.
Carla Seatzu's research interests include discrete-event systems, hybrid systems, Petri nets, manufacturing systems, networked control systems, and control of mechanical systems. She has published over 170 papers and one textbook on these topics.
Carla Seatzu has served as General Co-Chair of the 18th IEEE Int. Conf. on Emerging Technology and Factory Automation (ETFA2013). She was Chair of the National Organizing Committee of the 2nd IFAC Conf. on the Analysis and Design of Hybrid Systems (ADHS'06) and member of the International Program Committee of over 50 international conferences. She is associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control and Nonlinear Analysis: Hybrid Systems. She is associate editor of the Conference Editorial Board of the IEEE Control System Society and of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society; she is chair of the IEEE IES Technical Committee on Factory Automation - Subcommittee on Industrial Automated Systems and Control.

Contact email address:


Cristian Mahulea received the B.S. and M.Sc. degrees in control engineering from the Technical University of Iasi, Romania, in 2001 and 2002, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree in systems engineering from the University of Zaragoza, Spain, in 2007.
He is currently an Associate Professor with the Department of Computer Science and Systems Engineering, University of Zaragoza, Spain. He has participated in the development and implementation of Petri Net Toolbox and SimHPN, two MATLAB softwares for simulation, analysis and synthesis of discrete-event systems modeled with Petri nets. He has been a Visiting Professor at the University of Cagliari, Italy, and a Visiting Researcher at the University of Sheffield, UK, and Boston University, MA, USA. His research interests include discrete event systems, hybrid systems, automated manufacturing, Petri nets, mobile robotics and healthcare systems.
Prof. Mahulea is currently an associate editor of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON AUTOMATION SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING. He was several times track co-chair of track 4 "Automated Manufacturing Systems" at ETFA, co-chair of Work-In-Progress papers at ETFA'2013 and Program Committee co-chair of ETFA'2017.

Contact email address:



Francesco Basile University of Salerno Italy
Riccardo Caponetto University of Catania Italy
Christos G. Cassandras Boston University USA
José-Manuel Colom University of Zaragoza Spain
Bart De Schutter Delft University of Technology The Netherlands
Mariagrazia Dotoli Politecnico di Bari Italy
Martin Fabian Chalmers University Sweden
Maria Pia Fanti Polytechnic of Bari Italy
Cesare Fantuzzi University of Modena and Reggio Emilia Italy
Gregory Faraut Lurpa - ENS Cachan France
Georg Frey Saarland University Germany
Davide Giglio University of Genova Italy
Stefan Haar INRIA France
Christoforos Hadjocostis University of Cyprus Cyprus
Laurent Hardouin University of Angers France
Marina Indri Politecnico di Torino Italy
Marius Kloetzer Technical University of Iasi Romania
Stephane Lafortune University of Michigan USA
Dimitri Lefebvre Havre University France
Bengt Lennartson Chalmers University Sweden
Jingshan Li University of Wisconsin USA
Lingxi Li Purdue School of Eng. and Technology USA
Andrea Matta Politecnico di Milano Italy
Christos Panayiotou University of Cyprus Cyprus
Carsten Röcker Fraunhofer App. Center Ind. Aut. Germany
Karen Rudie Queen’s University Canada
Klaus Schmidt Cankaya University Turkey
Shigemasa Takai Osaka University Japan
Marcelo Teixeira Federal Univ. of Technology Parana Brasil
Fernando Tricas University of Zaragoza Spain
Ramon Vilanova Arbos Universitat Autonoma Barcelona Spain
Antonio Visioli University of Brescia Italy
Michael Weyrich University of Stuttgart Germany
Armin Zimmermann Technische Universität Ilmenau Germany
Alois Zoitl Fortiss GmbH Germany