FA6: Industrial Automated Systems and Control

Chair: Carla Seatzu, University of Cagliari, Italy

Scope: Design methodologies and tools for the modeling and verification of manufacturing and process systems. Programmable logic control, process control, intelligent control, supervisory control. Synthesis and analysis techniques. Simulation, queueing systems, Petri nets. Performance Evaluation and reliability. Scheduling. Failure detection, diagnosis, and appropriate control strategies. Discrete, continuous and hybrid industrial automation systems. Integration of automation, control and supervision. Automated manufacturing systems and enterprise integration. Recent developments in standardization. Test cases, benchmarks, and tools. Concurrent and more efficient engineering.


Carla Seatzu received her Laurea degree in electrical engineering and her PhD degree in electronic engineering and computer science from the University of Cagliari, Italy, in 1996 and 2000, respectively. In 2002 she joined the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering of the University of Cagliari as an assistant professor of Automatic Control. She currently serves as as associate professor of Automatic Control in the same department.
Carla Seatzu's research interests include discrete-event systems, hybrid systems, Petri nets, manufacturing systems, networked control systems, and control of mechanical systems. She has published over 170 papers and one textbook on these topics.
Carla Seatzu has served as General Co-Chair of the 18th IEEE Int. Conf. on Emerging Technology and Factory Automation (ETFA2013). She was Chair of the National Organizing Committee of the 2nd IFAC Conf. on the Analysis and Design of Hybrid Systems (ADHS'06) and member of the International Program Committee of over 50 international conferences. She is associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control and Nonlinear Analysis: Hybrid Systems. She is associate editor of the Conference Editorial Board of the IEEE Control System Society and of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society; she is chair of the IEEE IES Technical Committee on Factory Automation - Subcommittee on Industrial Automated Systems and Control.

Contact email address: seatzu@diee.unica.it


Bengt Lennartson Chalmers University Sweden
Laurent Hardouin University of Angers France
Stefan Haar INRIA France
Martin Fabian Chalmers University Sweden
Mariagrazia Dotoli Polytechnic of Bari Italy
Christos G. Cassandras Boston University USA
Kurt Rohloff BBN Technologies USA
Stephane Lafortune University of Illinois USA
Cristian Mahulea University of Zaragoza Spain
Maria Pia Fanti Polytechnic of Bari Italy
Alix Munier Kordon University Pierre and Marie Curies France
Lingxi Li Purdue School of Engineering and Technology USA
Christoforos Hadjocostis University of Cyprus Cyprus
Fernando Tricas University of Zaragoza Spain
Klaus Schmidt Cankaya University Turkey
Davide Giglio University of Genova Italy
Christos Panayiotou University of Cyprus Cyprus
Francesco Basile University of Salerno Italy
Shigemasa Takai Osaka University Japan
José-Manuel Colom University of Zaragoza Spain
Dimitri Lefebvre Le Havre University France
Jingshan Li   University of Wisconsin USA
Ton van den Boom Delft University of Technology The Netherlands
Karen Rudie Queen’s University Canada
Franck Cassez The University of New South Wales Australia
Georg Frey Saarland University Germany